Skip to content

“Fast food” that’s healthy for you!

June 1, 2010

I am not the best of cooks. I prefer to think of myself more as an assembler, not a cook.

That doesn’t deter me from eating foods that are good for me.

Here’s a meal I fixed twice this past Memorial Day weekend. It took only minutes!

My “quick fix” how-to:

  • Use pre-sliced veggies  from your grocery store’s salad bar. (I scored red, yellow, orange and green bell peppers, plus asparagus tips and raw broccoli!)
  • Slice up some antibiotic- and hormone-free chicken breast.
  • Pour a bit of unrefined, organic coconut oil in a pan.
  • Toss in the sliced chicken breast and some sliced red onion.
  • When chicken becomes opaque (turn the pieces), add in the sliced veggies.
  • When nearly cooked, sprinkle in fajita seasoning mix. I love Simply Organic fajita seasoning, available in packets at Whole Foods.
  • Stirfry another couple minutes, till spices “cook.”

I ate mine “as is,” with a sprinkle of organic shredded Mexican blend cheese–plus an ear of corn on the side on Memorial Day.

My daughter, however, had her stirfry with cheese on top of frozen, bagged Jasmine rice (Whole Foods) on Sunday and in whole wheat tortillas on Monday.

Yum! So easy and so fast, we had lots of time for other fun adventures!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

